Nigerian Immigration Salary, Ranks and Training Allowance 2023

Nigerian Immigration Salary, Ranks and Training Allowance 2023 are listed on this page. Check out to know the salary structure for NIS in 2023.

The Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS) is responsible for regulating immigration to and from Nigeria, and issuing travel documents and residence permits, among other important duties. This article focuses on understanding the pay structure for NIS staff based on their education level and rank.

It is worth noting that the NIS salary structure is the same as that of the Customs Service, NSCDC, and Police; however, it differs significantly from that of the Navy, Air Force, and Army. The foundation for the NIS compensation structure is the Consolidated Paramilitary Salary Structure (CONPASS).

Before delving into the details of the NIS compensation structure, let’s examine the ranks, which play a crucial role in determining each employee’s salary.


Nigerian Immigration Salary Structure 2023

Below are the Nigerian Immigration Salary Structure for this year.

  1. Immigration Assistant (IA) Level 3 to 5: Starting from ₦374,259 to ₦374,259.
  2. Assistant Inspector of Immigration (AII) – Level 6: Starting from ₦357,385 to ₦411,454.
  3. Senior Inspector of Immigration (SII) – Level 7: Starting from ₦483,014 to ₦567,065.
  4. Assistant Superintendent of Immigration (ASI II) – Level 8: Starting from ₦858,956 to ₦986,991.
  5. Assistant Superintendent of Immigration (ASI I) – Level 9: Starting from ₦939,310 to ₦1,056,416.
  6. Deputy Superintendent of Immigration (DSI) – Level 10: Starting from ₦1,012,562 to ₦1,143,539.
  7. Superintendent of Immigration (SI) – Level 11: Starting from ₦1,094,027 to ₦1,252,038.
  8. Chief Superintendent of Immigration (CSI) – Level 12: Starting from ₦1,158,172 to ₦1,325,234.
  9. Assistant Comptroller of Immigration (ACI) – Level 13: Starting from ₦1,225,584 to ₦1,405,449.
  10. Deputy Comptroller of Immigration (DCI) – Level 14: Starting from ₦1,619,447 to ₦1,825,589.
  11. Comptroller of Immigration (CI) – Level 15: Starting from ₦1,759,921 to ₦1,966,281.
  12. Assistant Comptroller General of Immigration (ACGI): Starting from ₦2,272,288 to ₦2,464,560.
  13. Deputy Comptroller General of Immigration (DCGI): Consolidated pay.
  14. Comptroller General of Immigration (CGI): Consolidated pay.

Nigerian Immigration Ranks

  1. Comptroller General Immigration Service (CGIS)
  2. Assistant Comptrollers General (ACGI)
  3. Superintendent of Immigration (AC)
  4. Assistant Superintendent of Immigration (ASI)
  5. Senior Inspector of Immigration (SII)
  6. Assistant Inspector of Immigration (AII)
  7. Immigration Assistant (IA)
  8. Passport Officers

Please note that the mentioned salaries above do not include additional benefits such as shift assignments, guard duties, transportation expenses, overtime pay, uniform expenses, or other allowances.

It is essential to understand that the Consolidated Paramilitary Pay Structure (CONPASS) is used because the Immigration Service’s salary cannot be determined separately.

The NIS has a two-tiered rank structure, with an inspectorate cadre ranging from Level 3 to 7 and an officer’s cadre at levels 8 and above. Individuals with credentials lower than a university degree or its equivalent are placed in the inspectorate cadre, which includes roles like drivers, technicians, and cleaners.

On the other hand, those with a university degree or equivalent are placed in the officer’s cadre, starting from level 8 and above. Both cadres are crucial to the functioning of the Service, and professional tradespeople without a college degree can work within the inspectorate cadre.

Leave a Comment